Correction on the Senate FISA vote

My post on the Senate FISA vote erroneously claimed that a disproportionate number of Democrats did not vote on the legislation. Actually, the only Democrats who didn’t vote (not counting Sen. Johnson who remains unable to participate) were Senators Boxer, Dorgan, Harkin, and Murray. The non-voting Republicans were Senators Alexander, Bunning, Gregg, Lott, Lugar, and McCain.
Every Republican who did participate voted in favor of the amendments to FISA. They were joined by the following 17 Democrats: Bayh, Carper, Casey, Conrad, Feinstein, Inouye, Klobuchar, Landrieu, Lieberman, Lincoln, McCaskill, Mikulski, Nelson (Fla.), Nelson (Neb.), Pryor, Salazar, and Webb. 28 Democrats voted “nay.”
Orin Kerr has a good summary of the legislation.


Books to read from Power Line