English Premier League All-Stars, 2011-12

Every year for some time now, Power Line has selected an English Premier League team of the year. Last year, in my absence, a long-time reader made the picks. I thought he did a pretty good job.

Now that I’m a pensioner, with plenty of time on my hands, I thought I would pick three teams, to give EPL fans more to shoot at. Please rest assured that the players you believe were criminally omitted would have made Power Line’s fourth team.

I have indicated the country each player represents in international football to illustrate the diversity of the modern EPL.

First Team
Joe Hart — Manchester City (England)
Kyle Walker — Tottenham Hotspur (England)
Leighton Baines — Everton (England)
Vincent Kompany — Manchester City (Belgium)
Fabricio Coluccini — Newcastle United (Argentina)
Yaya Toure — Manchester City (Ivory Coast)
Yohan Cabaye — Newcastle United (France)
Clint Dempsey — Fulham (USA)
Sergio Aquero — Manchester City (Argentina)
Wayne Rooney — Manchester United (England)
Robin Van Persie — Arsenal (Holland)

Second Team
Michel Vorm — Swansea City (Holland)
Thomas Vermaelen — Arsenal (Belgium)
Ashley Cole — Chelsea (England)
Younes Kaboul — Tottenham Hotspur (France)
Martin Skrtel — Liverpool (Slovakia)
Alex Song — Arsenal (Cameroon)
Scott Parker — Tottenham Hotspur (England)
Gareth Bale — Tottenham Hotspur (Wales)
David Silva — Manchester City (Spain)
Juan Mata — Chelsea (Spain)
Stephane Sessegnon — Sunderland (Benin)

Third Team (3-2-2-3)
Tim Krul — Newcastle United (Holland)
Rio Ferdinand – Manchester Untied (England)
John Terry — Chelsea (England)
Robert Huth — Stoke City (Germany)
Ramires — Chelsea (Brazil)
Marouane Fellaini — Everton (Belgium)
Antonio Valencia — Manchester United (Ecuador)
Victor Moses – Wigan Athletic (Nigeria)
Demba Ba — Newcastle United (Senegal)
Luis Suarez — Liverpool (Uruguay)
Grant Holt — Norwich City (England)

Player of the Year — Van Persie
Runner-up — Kompany
Manager of the Year — Sir Alex Ferguson


Books to read from Power Line