English Premier League All-Stars, 2012-13

It’s a slow scandal weekend, so why don’t we name our Power Line EPL all-stars for the just completed season? We’ll name three teams, like last year. And, as always, you should assume that the players you believe were criminally omitted would have made Power Line’s fourth team.

First Team
Petr Cech — Chelsea
Pablo Zabaleta — Manchester City
Leighton Baines — Everton
Jan Vertonghen — Tottenham Hotspur
Rio Ferdinand — Manchester United
Michael Carrick — Manchester United
Santi Cazorla — Arsenal
Juan Mata — Chelsea
Gareth Bale — Tottenham Hotspur
Luis Suarez — Liverpool
Robin Van Persie — Manchester United

Second Team
David De Gea — Manchester United
Rafael — Manchester United
Patrice Evra — Manchester United
Phil Jagielka — Everton
Per Mertesacker — Arsenal
Steven Gerard — Liverpool
Yaya Toure — Manchester City
Eden Hazard — Chelsea
Theo Walcott — Arsenal
Carlos Tevez — Manchester City
Christian Benteke — Aston Villa

Third Team
Simon Mignolet — Sunderland
Ryan Shawcross — Stoke City
Gareth McAuley — West Bromwich Albion
Ashley Williams — Swansea City
Mohammed Diame — West Ham United
Marouane Fellaini — Everton
Robert Snodgrass — Norwich City
Shaun Maloney — Wigan Athletic
“Michu” — Swansea City
Romelu Lukaku — West Bromwich Albion (on loan from Chelsea)
Rickie Lambert — Southampton

Player of the Year — Bale
Runner-up — Van Persie

A few points of possible interest. First, there sure are a lot of Belgian players in these teams. I count six of them: Vertonghen, Hazard, Benteke, Mignolet, Fellaini, and Lukuka. Heck, that’s only two fewer than the number of Englishmen.

Second, only Baines and Van Persie are repeat-members of the first team. And only Bainsey has made our first team for three years in a row.