La Creme de la Prem

Here is my English Premier League all-star team for the 2008-09:

Mark Schwarzer – Fulham

Glenn Johnson – Portsmouth
Patrice Evra – Manchester United
Phil Jagielka – Everton
Nemanja Vidic – Manchester United

Steven Gerrard – Liverpool
Frank Lampard – Chelsea
Ashley Young – Aston Villa
Christiano Ronaldo – Manchester United

Nicolas Anelka – Chelsea
Wayne Rooney – Manchester United

Player of the year

Those who follow the Premiership closely will know that the players named Ryan Giggs of Man U their player of the year. But this more like a lifetime achievement award for the Welsh Wizard than a verdict on his season. Giggs started only 15 of United’s 38 Premier League matches, had only two goals and seven assists, and was not a defensive standout. Thus, there is no place in my 11 for Manchester United’s most decorated player ever.


Books to read from Power Line